Curriculum Changes in NI

New Curriculum fro Northern Ireland Schools

The 2007 school year will bring new changes to curriculum for Northern Ireland (NI) Post-Primary schools (Key Stage 4 and Post 16). The Department of Education NI (DENI) has mandated this change to be implemented starting 2007 and completed in 2010. It has been designated the Entitlement Framework. From the DENI website:

“The Entitlement Framework will require schools to provide pupils with access to a minimum of 24 courses at Key Stage 4 and 27 courses at post-16.  To ensure breadth and balance, at least one third of courses will have to be applied and at least one third general.  As long as they meet these requirements, it is up to schools to determine what courses they will provide access to across the areas of learning in the revised curriculum.  Schools will be encouraged to continue to provide pupils with access to extension courses and enrichment opportunities” 

This entry was posted in NI Education. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s